10 Quick Ways to Improve Your Mood

Posted on January 30, 2017

5


So, I’m just having myself a fabulous day, feeling pretty invincible. 6AM yoga can do that to anyone. And then something happens and I feel completely derailed. Mostly it’s because someone decided to be an ass and ruin my perfect day. Has that ever happened to you?

I just wanted to write down some real quick tips to turn around an otherwise shitty downward spiral that can happen (to me) because we (I) tend to let my thoughts run away. It goes back to my Vipassana days. Being mindful of the wandering thoughts and gently bringing them back to the present moment. Remembering that I cannot change how others behave. I can only control my own thoughts.

Before I get into that, I want to acknowledge my friends and peers across the world who have debilitating mental health issues and cannot simply divert their thought process. I am in no way trying to guilt or shame anyone. I am just trying to list a few quick pick-me-ups that work for me hoping that may be, just may be, it may assist someone else.

  1. 9e8bf37b708ce10713d542f97ee9e633Say something nice to the first five people you come across.
  2. I cannot say this often enough. Funny animal videos. These days, I am tripping on the panda webcam at the Toronto zoo!
  3. A glass of water.
  4. Seven deep breaths – inhaling through one nostril while blocking the other one, and exhaling through the other, blocking the first one. It is  seven for me. May be five or ten for you.
  5. Do a little silly dance. To a really upbeat song.
  6. List down all the positive thoughts/experiences you’ve had in the last few hours/days/weeks/years — dig as deep as you need to!
  7. Send out positive vibes/prayers for someone else. If possible, even for those who have hurt you. It’s okay if someday we can’t be good, though 🙂
  8. Eat a piece of fresh fruit.
  9. Take a walk or a shower if possible.
  10. Help someone else

And just two more for good luck:

11.  Have a good cry!

12. Aromatherapy has really helped me. I diffuse geranium or lavender oils.

Ranting does not work for me. At all. When I rant, I wallow in self-pity. For a lot of people, ranting/venting really helps. The best thing that works for me is to help someone else. When I shift my focus from being inward-looking to outward-looking, and what my impact can be, it really helps me shake off the little things.

My goal for this year is to create positive rituals that work for me. I have currently committed to journalling 10+ve things each day. It’s been a few days and I am already feeling addicted to this practice.

What are some of the things that work for you?

Posted in: introspection