On Charity, Boy Scouts, Homosexuality and Goodness

Posted on November 27, 2014

7


Recently, Sid and I were walking through our neighborhood mall on a Thursday evening, holding hands and navigating the world on the pretext of running errands. We were just about to enter the supermarket when we were approached by a cute little boy, no more than six years of age. I could see an adult man, possibly his father, standing a little distance away, watching closely but not about to interfere. The little boy was trying to sell us something. I saw the box in his hand and it proudly proclaimed “Boy Scouts of Somewhere”. I sweetly touched his head and said, “Sorry honey, I don’t have any change.” I smiled at his father and went into the supermarket.

I was already at the produce section “discussing” with Sid the list of things we needed to buy. When I got no response, I turned around and didn’t see him. I knew where he was! He walked towards me and I said, “Do you know the Boy Scouts don’t allow gay boys to become members? They’re super homophobic.” Sid said, “I know, but I didn’t do it for the Boy Scouts, I did it for THIS boy.”

I could understand his action. That boy was really cute. And that made me angrier. The Boy Scouts openly say on their website that they do not allow “avowed” homosexuals to become members. Their entire vision and mission is based on teaching children to become “moral” human beings. How can you create moral human beings when you cannot accept that not everyone is the same? How can you create moral and God-serving human beings when you are assuming that what you know is correct? I had so many questions for Sid, but resisted. Would you still give that boy money, if our kids were gay? (Knowing him, he probably would! It infuriates me…the whole kill them with love thing!) Do you realize how many boys are probably feeling trapped in the traditional engendering of what boys must be like?

In Sid’s mind, he was rewarding the hard work of the little boy (who may or may not turn out to be a homophobic twit!) and I resisted the little boy’s charm and pool-like eyes to not further the agenda of a cause that I feel leads to the creation of a segregated and intolerant society.

Who among us is right? Is either of us right? What is goodness?

Posted in: introspection