No Do Overs

Posted on November 17, 2014

0


I am starting a new series of weekly reblogs on Mondays. This week, I am posting Sammy’s blog. Sammy lost his son to suicide in 2008. This post is about the last conversation he had with his son. Great life advice. I am currently obsessed with this blog. His simplicity and insight speak to me and teach me so much about the nuances of loss and grief. Thank you for reading.

Surviving My Son's Suicide

For better understanding you may want to read About This Blog first.

The last time I saw Aaron we had a disagreement. It wasn’t an argument, no one getting angry just a normal garden variety unresolved difference of opinion that sent each of us on our separate ways feeling uneasy. I watched Aaron walk away and I couldn’t help but feel he left somewhat discouraged. I know I was.

I never spoke to him again and one week later he took his life.

I don’t believe for one moment that this little misunderstanding between us had anything to do with him committing suicide. I have no doubts about that.

I tried my hardest to recreate that day over and over again trying to convince myself that the conversation we had ended differently. Unfortunately it doesn’t work that way.

In the days, weeks and months that followed that last memory and conversation with Aaron has haunted me. I just…

View original post 533 more words

Posted in: Relationships