7 Positive Things About Winter

Posted on November 16, 2014

0


I have not left my apartment in a few days. Why? It’s the first week when the temperatures have stayed below 3 degrees C consistently and we had a couple of snow days with a decent dusting on trees and cars. And just like that, winter is here. I suspect that I have mild Seasonal Affective Disorder, a mood disorder that leads to depressive symptoms upon the onset of particular season and subsides as the season recedes. As a mental health professional (albeit on hiatus), I would not be using this term lightly. I am indeed blessed to be unemployed at such time since I do not have to force myself out of bed or rush to the washroom for a mid-day cry. However, it can also be a curse as well, since there’s no reason to get myself into a routine and go about, you know,  living!

This year, I am determined to be positive. I have been forcing myself to exercise (We’ll see; it’s been two days). I even put on joyful music while driving through the first snow yesterday. And then it occurred to me. There have to be some good things about winter that I don’t pay attention to. So here’s my list. You can send me more tips and suggestions, and I will add them with your name to this post.

1. You can go grocery shopping, buy frozen foods, leave them in your car while you go the movies.

I hate going grocery shopping in the summer. (A) There’s so many other things I could instead of going grocery shopping, and (B) It has to be a special trip because dairy and produce will get spoiled if left out of the fridge too long. In winter, once the temperature is steady at zero degrees C and below, you could be out the whole day after and it wouldn’t matter.

2. You don’t need to shave your legs and armpits.

Now, now, I know I don’t need to shave my legs during any season. But let’s face it. I was engendered to be a leg-shaving, skirt-wearing gal. So I need to shave my legs. In winter, it’s too cold to not wear tights with my skirts and cardigans with my sleeveless tops. There’s never a fashion emergency in winter (for me). Tights and sweaters save the day. Always.

Brown Boots | Picture from: outfits.blogspot.com

Brown Boots | Picture from: outfits.blogspot.com

Black boots with styling | Picture from: 50-off.digimkts.com

Black boots with styling | Picture from: 50-off.digimkts.com

3. You just need two pairs of footwear, strictly speaking.

In the summer, I go crazy trying to find sandals that go with my dresses. I hate girly footwear. I just wear my Birkenstocks with everything. However, if you’re going to a party or to a fancy restaurant, your Birkies may feel out of place there. I am not gonna lie; I have done it, but it’s rather tiring to have people pretending to sip their drink to steal a look at your footwear and snicker silently. In winter, you need one pair of black boots and another pair of brown boots and you can pretty much wear them anywhere with any outfit. They can be dirty when you go to the supermarket and cleaned up for an evening out. And the tables turn when women were their sky-high stilettos in the middle of winter. You can sip on your drink, sneak a peek at their footwear and silently will them to fall. (Yes, I am shallow. Don’t judge me.)

Lights on Magnificent Mile in Chicago

Lights on Magnificent Mile in Chicago

Lights on the Magnificent Mile in Chicago

Lights on the Magnificent Mile in Chicago

4. The lights

From Thanksgiving through January, the cities are decked up in beautiful lights. This is what heaven may be like, I imagine, minus the cold, of course. I remember taking a horse-carriage ride around downtown Chicago to see the lights a few years ago. It was mesmerizing. I mostly find the holidays irritating. Stores are crowded. Sales remind me of how shallow we human beings are. But them lights, dyam! It’s hard to be sad around them.

The 8-inch snow storm on Dec 13th 2013 (Ann Arbor, Michigan)

The 8-inch snow storm on Dec 13th 2013 (Ann Arbor, Michigan)

5. SNOW DAYS

The 2013-2014 winter was exceptionally bad. But we got so many days off work. I love sleeping in, watching the snow come down and getting deeper into my fluffy blanket. And it’s even more enjoyable to have hot ginger chai (what Oprah stupidly calls Chai Tea) in bed with sugary biscuits! Did I not mention cuddling yet? Yes, cuddling, very important to do on a snow day, whether it’s with a pillow or pet or person, do it! Ah, snow days get here already.

6. Soups

It’s the perfect weather to overindulge in experimenting with different soups. Last year’s soup winners from my kitchen were Spinach-Leek-Potato and Miso-Soba Noodle. I wonder what people did before the advent of Google and Pinterest! This year, I want to master the Coconut-bok choy recipe I pinned a few months ago. And who knows what else!

Miso Soba Noodle Soup | Picture from: www.honeyedhome.com

Miso Soba Noodle Soup | Picture from: http://www.honeyedhome.com

7. Christmas cake

I am not sure if plum cake with rum/brandy and raisins is typically a Christmas cake across the world, but in India, that’s what Christmas cake is. And it’s better than awesome. It’s sublime; each piece is like a mouthful of bliss. We get our stock from visiting family members and eat it from December through January. I may not like the holidays, but I like the cake.

I began this post wanting to write ten positive things about winter. I am just glad I made it to seven! To be fair, it wasn’t hard getting to seven. What are the silver linings to the winter cloud over your head?

 

 

 

 

Posted in: Uncategorized