Something I Feel Strongly About

Posted on November 22, 2013

17


I began thinking about this post last night. I knew right away what I was going to write about. But I told myself I was being too quick to decide what I “feel strongly about”! Sid came home today and I asked him what he thought I should write about, and without batting an eyelid came the reply, “Women’s rights”!

So here’s what I think “Feminism” means:

Phenomenal Woman

My Favorite Poem

1. Women and men collaborate to make the world a better place.

2. Women have the right to choose.

3. There is a vision for the world – that being E.Q.U.A.L.I.T.Y. – that being for everybody.

4. Women are not only valuable, they’re invaluable. Whether they’re housewives or career women or moms or models or sex workers or believers or atheists.

5. Women have the right to enjoy, consent or deny sex.

6. Women and men are equal. May be different. But equal.This means women can do the same jobs as men. Preach to men as well. Be spiritual leaders in their marriages.

So much of my self-worth comes from being a strong, confident woman. I was recently told by a formidable young woman in her mid-twenties that she wants to be my friend because she thinks I am great role model. I have had to struggle with this for a long time – the concept of being a phenomenal woman. Growing up I thought having a family was what made a woman phenomenal. In my teens, I thought a woman’s looks made her phenomenal. When I was in my 20s, I thought having a career and excelling in that career is what made a woman phenomenal. Then I began to feel that a woman needs to be a super woman to be phenomenal. At one point, the messages I got from the outside world were that a woman is phenomenal if she doesn’t need/have a man in her life. May be I was not so phenomenal after all.

In my 30s, having spent two years without a job, having lived in 3 different countries, meeting women from all walks of life, I have realized that a woman is phenomenal when she believes it.

And that’s my vision. To help every female fetus, girl child, teen and 20-something woman believe that she is! In the wake of all the rising violence against women, I believe there will be a day when women believe that they can gang-stop a gang-rape. And I will be in that gang.

Posted in: attitude