The Day I Grew Up

Posted on May 16, 2011

2


Yes, there’s precisely a day, a moment when I knew I was a grown up and I had to make my own decisions. No, it was not an all important decision about what college to go to or what subjects to study. Nor was it my 18th birthday. Nor did I have to choose the model of the car I was getting.

When I was young, I would always ask my mom if I could have tea. I must have started asking that around the age of 5! I was really fascinated why adults liked this maroon-brown-black drink so much! But my mom always said, “No, you’re too young!” If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you will know that I was in my early teens when my mother was diagnosed with Early Onset Alzheimer’s Disease. She was in her early 40s. For the rest, well, you just found out 🙂

Ok, so this day in question was just a regular day. I must have been about 15 years old and I woke up in the morning and came to the dining room. I saw my father, grandmother, grandfather, all sitting around the table quietly, eating their breakfast. I announced, “I am going to have tea.” I waited. With baited breath. I thought I was going to be scolded. But no one said a word, no one raised their eyebrows even or looked up to acknowledge what I had said.

The maid came and put a cup in front of me. I had my first sip of tea. It was hot, felt nice going down my throat. It was the end of childhood. I felt empowered. Of course, the feeling lost its intensity and very soon died even and I mourned the loss of childhood as I saw my mother wither away, but still, the memory of “being grown up finally” brings a melancholic smile to my face!

Posted in: childhood