How to Change The Way You Feel

Posted on July 12, 2010

27


The blues may be here to stay, and it may seem like there’s no way, but here’s something you can try to do, to make you NOT feel blue.

Sometimes when we are down, it’s hard to pray, meditate or even share our feelings with someone else. We feel a disconnect with life around us. When people find out we’re down, they all mean well, and try to help. But the more they talk, the worse we feel. It’s a helpless situation – for the one trying to help and the one who cannot be helped. B.U.T, if we’re sick of feeling blue, there are some small and painless things we can do to alleviate some of the suffering.

1. Induce Laughter

This part has been taken from an email that Roberto sent me a few days ago. I just tried it today, and I hate to admit, it worked. Okay, so this is kind of having your own one-person laughing club.

A recent study revealed that laughter is key to our mental wellness. The study, in fact, stated that we need a minimum of 12 laughs a day…just to stay healthy! In fact, Mark Twain said, ‘The human race has only one effective weapon and that is laughter. The moment it arises, all your irritations go away, and a sunny spirit takes their place.”

So here’s what you do. Laugh for an entire minute. LOUDLY. Not 30 seconds, not 45, but for 60 seconds, non-stop. In my experience, the first few laughs are hard to come by and there is an all pervasive feeling of being silly. But when we persevere, the laughs come down harder and harder, till you don’t know why you’re laughing, but you are. And after your 1 minute is up, you can try and go back to being blue. It was hard for me to go back there.

Question is, can we challenge ourselves for 1 minute?

2. The Thankfulness Break

This was told to me by Dr. Manjari Rao and Dr. Samata Vasisht. Both these doctors are homeopaths. They say that we put an alarm on our phone for every 1 hour. When the alarm rings, take a break, and find at least 1 thing to be thankful about. It could be for the cornflakes we eat, or the bird songs we heard or simply that we have a roof over our heads.

Since the last 2-3 weeks, I have been trying to do this. I keep the alarm on and when it rings, I get awfully annoyed. And sometimes I find that it is really hard for me to say thanks for anything. But I try to think. And then I say random things like, I am grateful that I remembered I needed to drink water. But the third or fourth time the alarm rings, I am able to feel thankful for the so-called more meaningful things.

3. Colourful Socks

2 of the 32 pairs gifted to me by Meera Nair

When all else fails, wear pink socks. If you’re too macho for pink, try bright yellow. Bright-coloured socks with prints are best for this experiment. This morning, I got a ping from Revati, she simply said, “I am wearing yellow socks.” I was not in the best of moods, so I said, “Oh wow, nice. I like bright socks.” Encouraged by my response, she said, “I can’t stop feeling good, it’s like having sunshine at my feet!”

I was once gifted 32 pairs of socks by Meera, and I still can’t thank her enough for the thoughtful gift of cheer and colour.

Posted in: life