Childhood’s Prayer

Posted on November 29, 2008

2


Lord, I am little,
Let me be a little reminder to the world that I matter

Lord, I am little,
Let me be the face of childhoods massacred in every place on earth.

Lord, I am little,
Let me be the one who survives this mayhem and let me be the messiah of peace.

Lord, I am little,
Let me never be cynical as the one who thought mother was a witch and father: a terrorist.

Lord, I am little,
Let me forget that my neighborhood was a battlefield and my school an explosive mine.

Lord, I am little,
Let me remember the innocent games I played with my friends and not the bloodshed in the playground this evening.

Lord, I am little,
Let me have no religion, and let me have no nationality,

Lord, I am little,
Let me always be human first, then a devotee.

Lord, I am little,
Let me never be blinded by faithless faith, and ruthless hate.

Lord, I am little,
Let me die quickly if I face a gun again, so that my frail body knows no more pain.

Lord, I am little,
Let no child see a refugee camp in her life, it’s a sad sad place.

Lord, I am little,
Let me be a little reminder to the world, that I matter!

For all children in refugee camps…don’t give up hope!

Henri, Aug 10th 2006

