Mansur, Man Friday At Enable India

Posted on August 10, 2006

0


I have recently joined the new job, and I have had the pleasure of making the acquaintance of a really cool gentleman by the name of Mansur. Mansur, 30 something years old, with a smile for every occassion, and an action for every word spoken…so what does he do at Enable India? Well, the question should be what is it that he does not do…

His first job is to pick up Shanti, and ensure that her sanity is maintained. He came into the lives of the people at EI as a driver, and little did they know he was about to take their lives by storm in a very good way, he is the most dependable man one could ever hope for at a work place. From proactiveness, to cheerfulness, to common sensibility, to camera-person-ship, to odd-jobs-person, to electrician, to counselor, to supervisor of tests…Mansur is my man of the year….

A driver originally, I have yet to meet a person with a personality as amenable as him. You utter a chore that YOU have to do, for instance, get a phone number from the stored data and make a call, before you can say SIGMUND FREUD, he will have whisked that number out of the database and placed it in front of you…you are surprised, thrilled and most importantly jolted in to action…because most of us will feel lazy to look up the bloody data base…and he does it for you and makes you feel like the queen of england; and HE will ensure YOU DO IT!

I sit in a particular room and use the plug point from the adjacent room to charge my lap top, it causes me severe inconvenience as the noise of the outer room comes through and I am disturbed. I cannot close the door because of the laptop wire which obstructs the door. I was mentioning this morning to my boss (Shanti hereafter) that I will put a spike board with multiple plug points so that I do not have to use the outer room socket….and by the time I left her room and came to mine…Guess what, it was done…he evaesdrops, he is omnipresent, or purely attentive, he is a treat and a real real gem…it makes me feel like an all important vice-president of a multi-billion dollar company.

Mansur does not know stature…or hierarchies…for him work is religion or food (whichever you think is more vital to one’s existence) for him, and he ensures that everyone is comfortable in what they do. Satish is a visually impaired Project Trainee at Enable India. He is a little scatter-brained at times. Recently he walked into Shanti’s office looking for a number. Shanti or a speedwagon as I prefer to call her, retrieved the number from her overflowing memory in a jiffy and orally told Satish, who tried to memorize the number…by the time she finished speaking the number, Mansur (who was packing up her laptop at the end of the day) handed over a chit to Satish with the number written on it…and said that Saitsh could forget the number and may need to make a trip to her cabin again, so to avoid wasting of time and energy to all, he simply wrote it and gave it to him…which meant the work would get done sooner.

He would sweep the floor, get coffee for visitors (and he seeks me out and ensures I get my cofee) and conduct tests for the candidates, he can keep time for 10 people who have begun the tests at different times and collect and store their papers accordingly. He is a creative thinker, I was manually changing mistakes in the English Grammar Question Paper this morning. There were atleast 7 mistakes in the paper and it was taking too much time. So he came to me and give it to me…I will put carbon papers and finish it off…it took me 15 minutes to do 3 sheets, he finished 22 in 10 minutes…

He is not only proactive, he is also smart. A few photocopies this morning were using up an extra side of the page for a mere few questions (it was an aptitude test which requires a lot of alignment and knowledge of MS Word), he told me that he simply changed the alignment of the whole section and ensured that it became a single copy and thereby saving us the money on 20 photocopies…and also, resources…He is the dude, I want when I am starting my own firm…conscientious and smart…

Mansur is proud of the work he does, what he stands for, and it reflects in his gait, he stands tall and quickly manages to steal the hearts of people like me, or irk the lazy ones who would rather not work…he does not care for people like that…he is concerned that Enable India should give the best services and he will go to any extent to ensure that…

I am not sure what his qualifications are…but I am sure it is not beyond 12th standard…but today when I saw him handle the handycam and shoot a film, I was amazed at his capabilities and his professionalism, he had perfectly zoomed in and zoomed out at appropriate moments…his hands were steady, his changing of shots was smooth…he is gifted and I think could have made a great cinematographer… What is more, the movie that was shot this afternoon needed to be beamed to the candidates, so what does he do? Go to his own house with the camera and check if his own personal TV is compatible…and then he brought his own TV to office and beamed the movie to everyone….It takes a lot to bring an expensive Samsung TV for something like this when it is not your job in the first place and that too when you have worked like crazy to earn enough to afford that luxury for your family…

His feeling of pride in himself, in his work, in the organization and each one of us…makes me feel special…to have known him and to get to see him and be in his positive presence each day… He is a messiah and a role model to me…and I think to every person who feels that certain jobs are beneath their dignity…I think he is the first role model that the children at Dream A Dream should get to hear from….I wish Mansur a happy and contented life…and I hope he can pass on this spirit to his children as he has to Shanti and me…

So move over Vishal, you have been replaced by a new role model in my life… :))))

“For Mansur, for having brought a smile to my face today, for being 60% responsible for the best working day I have had in months…I salute you!”

Posted in: Uncategorized